So this is the thing... despite being incredibly not religious, I've decided to take lent very seriously this year. Firstly, I've given up drinking. For people who don't drink, this isn't a big deal, but I've realised that everyone that I know drinks an awful lot therefore listen up kids. One of the reasons for this was because of money, as in, I'm running out pretty rapidly, and as nights out (and nights in actually) are probably where most of it is being drained I thought lent would be a good excuse to not waste every penny that I earn. Having decided this, I then had an epiphany of selflessness, and thought it would be a nice idea to give some of the money I'd be saving to charity. Because that's what Jesus would do. But then my wave of selflessness passed and I thought of an even better idea, which would benefit me as well as being charitable - spend it on clothes from charity shops. See? Clever. Then just to be difficult I decided to make it into a challenge, so that for the whole of lent, all 40 days and 40 nights of it, I am only allowed to wear clothes from charity shops.
The rules are as follows...
1) I am not allowed to wear, at any time, anything that I already own APART FROM underwear and tights. Call me a cheater, but I think the crotch proximity is far to close to share tights and pants, and as for bras well I don't think the 38 double G maximum support jobbys are quite my size. Oh, and I am allowed to wear my work shirt, because dedicated as I am to this mission, I don't want to jeopardise my career (as a bar maid. hmm.)
2) Vintage shops DO NOT count as charity shops, just because the clothes are second hand, it defeats the purpose of the exercise (unfortunately).
3) Clothes for all occasions must be considered, including gym clothes (for all those hours I spend in there...), work clothes (aside from the aforementioned shirt), pyjamas (yes), night out clothes (this is an important one, as I won't be able to get so drunk that I don't care what I look like) and everything in between.
So wish me luck, I am already on day three but due do my technical retardation only managed to set up the blog now so consider this my introduction and I'll continue to update you on the ins and outs of my endeavors...
Peace x
This I gotta see!
ReplyDelete